PLEASE LOG IN
SIGN IN WITH FACEBOOK
RESET PASSWORDFORGOT PASSWORD ?
REGISTERSTILL NO ACCOUNT ? DON'T WAIT

What to do before selling an iPhone?

Make sure your iPhone is ready for sale.

Do you want to sell your iPhone, but you wonder what to do before? There are some important things which everyone should do until he sells the phone. It's significant to make sure that nothing left on your device, and your entire data is secure. Let's check what you need to do!

Before you trade your old iPhone for the new one, take a look at this checklist to make sure you've deleted all important data from your iPhone. Don't leave anything behind!

Backup your data

If you bought a new iPhone you need to transfer all your data to the new device. You can backup to your local machine via iTunes or backup to Apple's servers via iCloud. In the video below you can find out how to do that properly.

Turn off Find My iPhone

Find My iPhone needs to be disabled before you sell your phone.  In order to turn off Find My iPhone, you will need to know your Apple ID password – so no one else can do this without your knowledge (unless, of course, that person knows your password). As long as Find My iPhone is turned on,you can’t erase your iPhone. Check how to turn off Find My iPhone:

  1. Firstly, launch the Settings app on your iPhone.
    Settings iPhone
     
  2. Tap on your Apple ID at the top and click Find My.
    Find My
     
  3. Choose Find My iPhone.
    Find My iPhone
     
  4. Tap the switch to disable it.
    Disable Find My iPhone
     
  5. Great! You disabled Find My iPhone.
     

Erase all your iPhone's Data

Now it's the main thing you must do. You have to make a hard reset on your device. It will delete all of your photos, apps, and whole date. It will disable all passcodes and Screen Time Passcode as well. In point of fact, it will delete all of your data. Below you have our video How to Hard reset your iPhone? The process may take a few minutes to several hours based on the version of your iPhone and the amount of data on your iPhone.

Deregister iMessage

The Messages app allows iPhone and iPad to have friends, family and colleagues sending iMessages instead of text messages or MMS messages, which avoids operator fees. The best way to make sure Apple knows you've switched, and to make sure you don't miss any messages from those still using iOS, is to turn off iMessage before you sell the phone. This is how to deactivate iMessage:

  1. Choose Settings from Main Menu.
    Settings iPhone
     
  2. Click on Messages.
    Message iPhone
     
  3. Tap the switch to disable it.
    Disable iMessage
     

What can you do more?

We have already discussed the main things you have to do. There are some little but still important things:

  • Sign out of iCloud and Facetime,
  • Sign out of the iTunes & App Store,
  • Unpair your iPhone from Apple Watch,
  • Remove SIM,
  • Unlock your phone.
Added on by - Viewed 510 times.
Don't paste HTML and BB Code. IP addresses are recorded. Up to 1500 characters.